Nom’ing Wish List

I know I always dwell on this, but I have never thought in my wildest dreams that I’d be cooking my own meals. EVER.

skye lee cooking in the kitchen

To think, up until 9 months ago I ate all my food from fast food plastic containers and if it didn’t come wrapped up in a piece of pretty printed paper, I didn’t know what to do with it!
Ugh…shocking take out diet, rest in peace…
skye lee calendar count down
Okay, so now I’m within the crucial count-down zone of my competition prep once again and back on freshwater fish and egg whites until the middle of this week.

The water manipulation has begun and I’m HIIT’ing it in the gym everyday until I feel like throwing up. Yep, sometimes I do think I’m juuuuust that little bit crazy, but I’ve come this far so it’ll be silly to give a half-arsed attempt now, right?

inspiration fitspiration quote you can do this quote

 
This time round, I’ve been more prepared (seeing I now know what to expect). Tanning solution all ordered? Check. Bikinis? Check. Evening wear? Check (thank you Bariano!). Boring diet? Hmmm…

I’m actually more worried about the post-comp food flood gate opening up…

cupcake centralAfter the last time, I am adamant to not have a repeat of history and prevent the mindless carb load as much as I can.
My official comp prep will finish mid-June, and after that I’ll be on my own for once in my life. No more trainer holding my hand. It’ll be me vs. the supermarket aisles and willpower.
I want to be able to stay lean while continuing to build muscle. So the best way to make sure I don’t OD on Krispy Kremes and Tim Tams again?

I’m compiling a list of yummy recipes that I’d love to try :)

The below is a shortlist of some recipes that sound delicious and healthy at the same time- still going with the low carb theme, but I will be inclined to serve these with quinoa and brown rice sides.

Can’t wait to start experimenting in the kitchen after June!
sky_sig2

Instagram
 
 

~ Savory ~

Breakie

- Grain Free Banana Pancakes
- Sweet Potato Hash Browns
- Oatmeal Pancakes
- Mini Broccoli Fritters
- Moroccan Egg Tagine (Baked Eggs)
- Tex Mex Breakfast Scramble

Snacks

- Spicy Kale Chips
Note: Add cashews to mixture for a “cheesy” taste
- Sweet Potato Fries
- Paleo Cauliflower Hummus

Salads

- Moorish Crunch Salad
- Spicy Beef & Cucumber Salad
- Spicy Tuna Salad

Something more substantial…

- Spiced Sweet Potato Dhal
- Quinoa Pizza Crust (gf)
- Mini Meat Loaf (gf)
- Paleo Beef Stew
- Roasted Almond Chicken Strips
- Spiced Lamb Stew with Walnuts & Pomegranate
Note: Replace 2 spoons of plain flour with 1 tablespoon tapioca flour and add 1 teaspoon of butter or ghee at the end. Cook for a little longer with no lid on to thicken the sauce further.
 

~ Sweets ~

Ultimate Dessert Recipe Page: Dessert Stalker!
- Pumpkin Spice Bread (gf)
- Coconut Flour Banana Bread (gf)
- Lemon Zucchini Poppy seed Muffins (gf)
- Low-Carb Cauliflower Brownies (gf)
- Zucchini Walnut Muffins (gf)
- Mocha Chip Protein Cake (gf)
- Coconut Flour Chocolate Cupcakes (gf)
- Chocolate Avocado Ice Cream
Note: Avocado with a dash of organic balsamic vinegar/apple cider vinegar gives a cocoa taste too!
- Sweet Potato Pecan Muffins (Paleo)
- Cinnamon Apple Quinoa Parfait
- Almond Flour Choc Chip Cookies
- Chocolate Chia Mousse
- Coconut Flour Anzac Biscuits (gf & Paleo)
- Healthy No Butter Chocolate Almond Pear Tart
Note: Will be replacing the agave nectar with coconut sugar or stevia for more clean eating brownie points.
 
 

5 responses to “Nom’ing Wish List

  1. Yeah! I hope you get to try these recipes out! Let me know how you enjoy them!! Until then……keep rockin that prep girl!

  2. Baked eggs is my Sunday morning brekky, you’re gonna love it. Add some chorizo to it for extra yumminess :)

Leave your thoughts (and candy donations) here

