Ahoy Sailor!

Standard

20121029-180438What’s the leanest purest protein available out there?

One word: Fish.

551309_10151333494290159_2071951721_n

In my previous life, I wouldn’t have been caught dead going to the fish section of the market: the fishy smell and the water everywhere was enough to give me nightmares as I balanced delicately in my open toe high heel shoes. 

Heh. That was the Skye before. That Skye ate fast food every night and didn’t know her way in the kitchen. Fast forward to the present, and now I can’t wait for market days.

I love the freshness and the variety of the fish- trevally, dory, flat head tails, barramundi and, my personal favorite, the oiliest fillet of salmon.

868549-vic-marketFish is a high-quality protein because it provides all the essential amino acids, or the building blocks of proteins.
(Read more at Livestrong.com)

Admittingly, I’m still on my training wheels in the kitchen and I usually interrogate the boisterous (and unabashingly flirty) fish monger behind the counter for cooking tips- they’re more than happy to oblige and I’ve been passionately offered recipes to cook my new purchase like a pro!

Fast fishy facts
Benefits of eating a seafood diet:

  • Heart disease
    Eating oily fish can help to reduce the risk of heart disease and improve your chances of survival following a heart attack. Fish does this by lowering levels of fats called triglycerides in the blood – raised levels are associated with heart disease.
  • Alzheimer’s
    Polyunsaturated fatty acids found in many fish may prevent damage to brain cells. Eating fish can also reduce the risk of high blood pressure, which is linked with dementia.
  • Arthritis
    Population groups that eat a lot of fish – Inuits in Greenland, for example – have low rates of inflammatory conditions such as arthritis. Studies have also shown fish oils to be useful in relieving the symptoms of rheumatoid arthritis.
  • Skin
    According to dermatologist Nicholas Perricone, author of The Perricone Prescription, a salmon-packed diet can help smooth out age lines.

(all factual information from saga.co.uk)

Not a bad little list of positives linked to seafood consumption, right? At first I was a bit tentative with the prospect of living of a “fisherman’s diet” for 2-3 weeks, but I’ve got to say it’s not as bad as it sounds. Hell, seafood has been the easiest thing to prepare in a hurry after work and in the mornings I’ve simply replaced my cup of oats with peeled prawns and half an avocado- it’s my low prep version of “tian” and it packs all the energy I need to get me through training (yea, take that sugar loaded Milo ads!).

After all the practice I’m getting in the kitchen, I think tonight I have successfully skilled up from cooking fish fillets to whole fish and may be onto something here.

Beloved reader, let me cordially introduce you to my…

Baked Snapper masterpiece!

photo 1 (1)photo 2 (1)

Maybe if this fitness model thing doesn’t work out I can apply for the next My Kitchen Rules series hehehe…

Til the next meal,
sky_sig2

6 thoughts on “Ahoy Sailor!

  1. Thanks for stopping by my fledgling blog Chef Randall, I may have an assignment for you soon where I require the opinion of a chef 🙂
    Hmm I’m on a fish supplement at the moment but might try to hunt down your reccommendation because the fish burps aren’t exactly pleasant!

  2. Chef Randall

    I don’t like fish, though now and then I will eat it. To get my omeg-3’s I take a liquid supplement daily. All your info here is true and to add it aids in memory. Once I started taking the supplement…within about 7 to 10 days I was remembering things I wold before getting. The supplement is: Ascenta NutraSea +Vit. D . It’s not from Cod liver but ocean cold water anchovies and sardines. Apple flavoring is added to mask fish taste. Sorry talk to much, I really like speaking about nutrition and health.

    Great blog you have here. Thanks also for following mine, Savor the Food. I appreciate your comments and readership.

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

Your thoughts (and candy donations) here

