Ode to the Stepper Machine

Standard

Oh, Stepper Machine, let me count the ways I LOATHE thee…
circle stepper

Today is Valentine’s Day and I got me a hot date at my gym.
No no, I’m not dating some PT underwear model (but a girl could only dream).

Instead of being all dolled up and dining in some fancy French foo-foo restaurant tonight, I am going to be changing into something more comfortable and making like Miley Cyrus doing my daily climb.

Stupid stepper machine. I don’t know what I hate more: the weird side to side motion it forces my feet to take when I push down, or the mind-numbing dribble on the television as I try to distract myself from a long-ass cardio session.

According to Livestrong.com, here’s some wonderful reasons why you should consider incorporating a stepper machine into your cardio routine:

  • Aerobic Capacity
    By working out on a stepper, you can increase your aerobic capacity. This in turn can make daily physical activities easier to accomplish. Basically, you will not feel so out of breath when your heart rate is increased.
  • Weight Loss
    Steppers burn a significant number of calories. If you are overweight and you use a stepper on a regular basis, you can reduce your weight and lower your risk factors for diseases. A 180 lb. person can burn more than 730 calories with 60 minutes of stepping.
  • Low Impact
    When you are using a stepper, your feet do not leave the pedals. This makes it a safe exercise for people with joint problems.
  • Mood Control *cough, are you serious?! lol*
    Steppers can help reduce your stress levels. According to the Mayo Clinic, physical activity stimulates various brain chemicals that may leave you feeling happier and more relaxed than you were before you worked out. To fully reap these benefits, aim for at least 30 minutes of stepping.
  • Toning
    Stair steppers are known for their calorie-burning benefits, but they can also lead to leaner and more toned muscles. The glutes, hamstrings, quads, calves and hips are all worked. Your core muscles are also utilized to help stabilize your body.

Read more at livestrong.com

cupid_1Sigh. Now I know why Trainer Ben wants me to bust my balls on this. I got to tell you though, the stepper’s ability to alter your mood positively is utter bullocks- every time I step off the thing I feel like kicking it in the nut sack!

Cheers to Valentines Day *holds up protein shaker full of water*. Yep, protein has been cut from the diet as of 2 weeks ago, so good ‘ol water it is…

Love to you all, since I’m not getting any back from the cold, black plastic…sky_sig2

11 thoughts on “Ode to the Stepper Machine

  1. Damn girl, stepping without gripping is HARD- can’t believe you do it for 40 minutes! I tried it this morning and couldn’t hack it…will give it another shot tonight (this time I’ll be armed with a loaded ipod). Thanks for the tip 🙂

Your thoughts (and candy donations) here

